LAUREL GROVE BAPTIST CHURCH

Laurel Grove Baptist Church, organized in 1869, was one of the churches helping to form the Sevier County Baptist Association in 1886. Elder J. W. Sutton, John T. Compton, George W. Sutton, and Clark Spurling represented Laurel Grove as messengers at the organizational meeting. C. Spurling was church clerk at the time and Elder Sutton gave a "stirring speech" at the Association annual meeting following the report on Education. He was named to serve on the Education commission.

The Reverend J. W. Sutton was pastor in 1887, Reverend J. G. McGill in 1891, and Reverend Caleb Rule in 1892. That year the church sent H. C. Helton, F. Suttles, J. T. Compton, G. W. Sutton, along with pastor Rule to the annual Association meeting as messengers.

Reverend Rule remained pastor through 1898, followed by Reverend Mark Roberts in 1900, Reverend Levi Branson from 1901 through 1904, Reverend J. N. Clabough 1905, Reverend James Abbott 1906-1907, Reverend Caleb Rule 1907-1908.

In 1909, Reverend D. R. Mullendore became pastor. He was very active in the Association. He led a devotion period at the 1910 annual meeting, and he was elected "assistant" moderator.

The church called Reverend W. E. Conner as pastor in 1912. "Delegates to the Association in 1913 were L. S. Carnes, Will England, H. T. Huff, and J. D. Kerley. Reverend J. A. Caylor served as pastor from 1915 through 1917, Reverend J. R. Davis from 1918 through 1919. Reverend Seldon Ogle became pastor in 1921, remaining through 1932 when R. H. Cardwell was church clerk and the church paid the pastor \$100. There were 173 members and BYPU reported 60 members in 1929.

In 1933, Reverend John Fox began a five-year term as pastor. G. H. Kerley was Sunday School superintendent.

Reverend S. C. Atchley became pastor in 1939, serving through 1940.Reverend Walter Ogle came as pastor August 17, 1940 and served through September 16, 1944. The next four pastors were: Reverends Joel L. Carr from October 1, 1944 through September, 1945; Lester Trentham from November 25, 1945 to May 12, 1946; Robert King from June 8, 1946 to January, 1948; John Williams from June, 1948 to August 20, 1949. On September 4, 1949, the church called Reverend Glenn Whaley who stayed until July 13, 1952. Reverend Kyle Rule came December 19, 1954, Reverend Otha McCarter November 6, 1956, and Reverend Henry Maples pastored from 1958 to 1961. Reverend Jack Bailey became pastor September 17, 1961 until August 5, 1965 when Reverend James Baumgardner became pastor September 26, 1965 and served until 1967. The next pastor was Reverend William Parham and then Reverend Gene Berrier from November 16, 1969 until October 31, 1971. Reverends Marion Brock, December 5, 1971 through August 21, 1972; Milburn White from November 19, 1972 through June

13, 1976; Jerry Tarwater from July 4, 1976, until June 12, 1977 and Jack Bailey from September 4, 1977, through the present year, 1991.